Profile Properties - Copy Rules
- Rules for Copying Files and Folders
- Rules for Deleting Files and Folders
- Rules for Overwriting Files
Rules for Copying Files and Folders
Copy missing files and foldersThis option causes all files and folders not present in the directory on the other side to be copied.
Don't search folders (NTFS junction points) that point to the contents of another folderNTFS junction points are empty folders that point to the contents of another folder. This option enables you to prevent these folders from being searched and processed. This option is activated by default. When activating this option you should check first that no loops are created by the junction points and no data items are processed twice.
Disable windows 64bit file system redirectionThis option enables the access to the folder "C\:Windows\System32" when running AllSync on a windows 64 bit version and prevents the redirection to the folder "C:\Windows\SysWOW64".
Save all source files at the destination folder without their folder structureThis causes all source files to be saved at the destination folder without their folder structure.
The source file "C:\Data\Office\info.txt" will be copied to the destination "D:\Data\info.txt" and NOT into the folder "D:\Data\Office\".
Store source file as compressed ZIP file at destinationThis causes a source file being copied to be stored as a compressed ZIP file at the destination.
Example: Data.doc -> Data.doc.zip
CompressionThis option enables you to specify the compression to be used for the files being backed up. The following settings are possible:
- Normal (default setting)
Compression methodThe following settings are possible:
EncryptionThis option enables you to password-protect the ZIP file against unauthorized access. The following encryption methods are available:
- Standard Zip 2.0
- AES 256-bit (info)
Move source files to destination folderThis causes the source files being copied to be moved to the destination folder. You can also specify that empty source folders are to be deleted:
- Delete all source folders that are empty after being moved
- Delete all source folders that were empty prior to being moved
Copy only files with the 'Archive' attributeThis option causes only files possessing the 'Archive' file attribute to be copied. All files without the 'Archive' attribute are automatically filtered.
Transfer access permissions of files and foldersThis option enables you to transfer the access permissions of files and folders to their destination counterparts. To this end, the partitioning of the source and destination data items has to be done using NTFS. When the only when creating and copying files option is activated, permissions are not transferred unless a file/folder is copied to the destination.
- If you want to transfer access permissions on the local machine, you have to be logged on as the administrator and possess the requisite read and write permissions for the source and destination items.
- If you want to transfer access permissions between two computers in the network the computers have to be registered in the same domain. You also have to be logged on as the domain administrator and possess the requisite read and write permissions for the source and destination items.
Rules for Deleting Files and Folders
Delete items at destination which are not present at sourceThis option causes all files and/or folders not present at the source to be deleted at the destination. You can also specify which data items are to be deleted:
- Files + Folders
Delete items at destination which are filtered at sourceThis causes all files and/or folders which are filtered at source to be deleted at the destination. You can also specify which data items are to be deleted:
- Files + Folders
Rules for Overwriting Files
Main RuleThis option specifies when a file is to be overwritten by another file of the same name. The following settings are possible:
- Never overwrite
- Always overwrite
- Overwrite file if modified date/time of file being copied is more recent
- Overwrite file if modified date/time of both files is different
- Overwrite file if size of both files is different
- Overwrite file if the contents of both files are different
Supplementary RuleThe following additional rules are possible when applying main rules 3 and 4:
- or the contents of the files are different
- and the contents of the files are different
- or size of files is different
- and size of files is different